Workbench Day 26: Leg Vise shaping part 2…

I got back to work shaping the chop for my leg vise today.  I have had one too many instances of thinking, “mam, this would be a lot easier if I had that vise done…” on various projects in the last fee weeks.  Right!  Time to get to work!

I spent about 45 minutes paring away the side today trying to match the bevel and shap of the first side I did a while ago.

I think it came out pretty good…

And here it is from a different angle.

Not much to tell about it really—just clamped it to the bench and had at it with chisels and rubber mallet.  Slowly the waste came off to the point the block plane became effective.

Last thing I did was to chamfer the upper edges of the chop with the block plane.  You can see the results (very slightly) in the above photo.  I will apply another bevel along the endgrain…maybe to match the sides or maybe not…either way, its almost time for the decorative carving I’m planning, then installation!

 

This entry was posted in Workbench and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Workbench Day 26: Leg Vise shaping part 2…

  1. Jim Ritter says:

    Looks like a real good start on that leg vise. Is the whole bench made of fir? If you want to eliminate the pin in the parallel beam I can help. Google “chain leg vise” and you will find out what I have to offer. Or go to ancorayachtservice.com and click on chain leg vise at the top tool bar. If you have any questions I can be reached at chainlegvise@gmail.com. Thanks, keep up the good work. Jim

Leave a Reply

