Lamp Plates Day 1: The design

My father-in-law has commissioned me (I guess that’s still the right phrase, though it’s really pro bono since he has given me a router and table, grinder, and drill!  I owe him!) to make some mounting plates for a couple outdoor lights he wants to mount on his garage.

Naturally, I jumped at the chance.  More woodworking!

He wanted a shield-like design to go with the lights.  Here’s what I came up with:

To give you a size reference, he bought me a piece of solid aspen, 3/4″ thick by 10″ wide by 4′ long.   I assembled one of the lights and and stuck it on the shield pattern.

Eventually, after I cut the shapes, I’ll use the router he gave me (his that he doesn’t use any more) to cut a nice bevel before painting and sealing it.  And cutting a hole for the lamp wires, etc.

Using the same method to transfer the image that I did yesterday for the leg vise chop design, I transferred the shield shapes.  Then I cut the shapes loose from the board.For fun, because I was running out of time, I took the first one and tried the coping saw out to see how well I could cut the curved shaped…not too bad!  It was easier than I thought.  Maybe I’ll use this instead of the crappy jigsaw I have…

This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

