[Castle Bookcase] Design

My daughter, Kylie is two now and long overdue for a bookcase to house not only her growing collection of books but also the books my son no longer reads (he is four now and is starting to learn to read books that have chapters).  The pile on the floor is just not cutting it any more.  When she was an infant the five or six books we read to her were easy to store on top of her dresser.  No longer!

But instead of just a simple bookcase or a stacked set of wooden cubes (which hold books) and soft open boxes that slide in to a few cubes (which hold all kinds of treasures) like my my son has, my creative side took over and I decided to design a castle bookcase.  She is quite the princess and every princess needs a castle.

A few months back I came up with this design:

IMG_20130625_173315_824

As you can see there will be crenelated turrets and a main tower jutting forward on which Kylie can put pictures, dolls, toys, etc and play on as she grows.  Here’s a perspective sketch of my idea:

IMG_20130625_173346_557

There will be storage for stuffed animals she frequently plays with (lower left corner in the pictures above) and space for the really tall books she has as well (lower right on the pictures above).

I got the approval from the finance department and began procuring supplies in the last few weeks.  Tomorrow, construction begins!

I’d like to say this will be my most ambitious project yet, but I think that medal chest I made for Mom is still the best.  We’ll see.  This thing is going to push my limits.

About The Freeholder

A native son of Delaware, now living in Illinois, Steven is a writer, family historian, amateur astronomer, sometimes-gardener, woodworker, father to three wonderful children, husband to a wonderful wife, and caretaker of one cheeky vizsla.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment