Every adventure begins with a single step…

So, welcome to my woodworking blog.  I plan to use this space to share with you my hobby and my progress, to work out problems and take suggestions and hopefully see my skills grow.

I’ve always been craft-inspired I guess you can say.  Whether it’s the drawings I’ve created since, well, forever really, or the writing I’ve been putting to paper since 1st grade, or fabricating stuff (forts, snowball catapults, pet obstacle courses, boats, model rockets, the list goes on), I’ve always created stuff.

I’ve never really been satisfied with those creations though.  I have plenty of fun drawing and writing, to be sure, and can get lost in those activities for hours, to be sure.  But in woodworking, I found a way to combine drawing and my love of creating something in a way I hadn’t thought possible.  Until now.

There is something deeply satisfying about coming up with an idea for something in your head, taking a pencil and paper and sketching said idea.  Then spending time working it, redrawing it, re-sizing it and coming up with a finished version of your design.  The fun begins when you acquire some wood and begin to create your design out of blocks and planks and boards.  When it’s complete, whether or not it’s exactly as you first imagined, it’s something entirely different from merely drawing.  It’s like sculpting.  It’s like a religious experience.  It’s just amazing and it’s incredibly hard to describe.

So!  Come along for the ride as I explore this fascinating hobby.  If you are less experienced than me (not likely) you might—gasp—learn something.  If you are more experienced than me you might get a few laughs.

The first project that will be documented here will be when I build my first true workbench.  Hopefully soon.  I’ll have more details on that later.

About The Freeholder

A native son of Delaware, now living in Illinois, Steven is a writer, family historian, amateur astronomer, sometimes-gardener, woodworker, father to three wonderful children, husband to a wonderful wife, and caretaker of one cheeky vizsla.
This entry was posted in Intro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment