[Moxon Mini-Bench] For sooth, mine bench completeth well.

Jumping back in to the icebox, I mean shop, I finished up the Moxon mini-bench today and am well pleased.

First order of business was to get the poplar nut-housings cut and chopped so I can make the handles for the threaded rods like on my leg vise.  These are about half the size of the leg vise hardware so it went a lot faster.  Especially because I could take the mini-bench (as it is) in the house where it’s warm and hack out the holes without worrying about damaging furniture!  I just put it on the ground and sat on my knees.  20 minutes later I had the hardware embedded in the poplar and ready to be cut free.IMAG2819

Once cut free and sanded the handles were ready.

I then mounted the face of the vice to the bench (out in the garage again) and clamped it together so I could drill out 3/8″ holes for some oak dowels to go through the back of the vise and into the front legs.  These pegs will support the front vise so all the weight doesn’t land on the threaded rods.  I didn’t glue the dowels in place so they can be removed/replaced if necessary.  They are nice and snug however.  The picture was after I attached the hardware though…IMAG2824

Once the holes were drilled, I hacked out notches on either corner of the vise face with the coping saw (and didn’t do that well, so I have another item for the “must practice” list).IMAG2822

I may go back and cut out the marked parts on the upper corners you see above, or maybe I’ll chisel it down to make a little bevel look…or maybe I’ll leave good enough the hell alone.  At any rate, that’s pure decoration that I don’t have time for.  Maybe when I’m done with the secret project.

Then it was just a matter of putting poplar encased hardware on the rods and locking everything down.  Insert the pegs and voila, the Moxon vise is complete.  Verily!IMAG2821

And does it work for the intended purpose?  Brilliantly!IMAG2825

My back feels better already.  Can’t wait to hit the dovetails again!

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [Moxon Mini-Bench] For sooth, mine bench completeth well.

  1. Paul says:

    A bit of monday morning quarterbackin. l liked the guide dowel feature, however l usr the end of the jaws for holding stuff also. Hench the dowels are fastened in movable jaw right below the screws, drilled them at same time as screw holes. this allows clamping center, & either end or both.

    Paul

    • S. M. Vaught says:

      That would probably reduce the racking I’ve experienced thus far with clamping something thick at the top…the bottom of the face tends to just slide on the dowels…hmmm

      You have given me an idea for upgrades! Thanks

Leave a Reply

