[Dovetailed Tea Box] The lid.

I decided to try my hand at chip carving something with more curves and a lot more detail than the simple borders I’ve been doing.

I also sharpened the knife and looked at with a magnifying glass to determine if the edge was the right shape and straight.  I think it was (what do I know anyway?) and I tried it out.  I won’t say it was perfect, but it was way sharper than I’ve ever had before for the first time I got some of those “cuts like butter” cuts you see on just about every video on the internet about chip carving.  It didn’t last more than a handful of cuts which suggests my technique is off a bit too, but the fact I got a few super nice cuts means the blade started out this time sharp enough.

In my excitement I forgot to re-hone so I just kept going and the cut quality got worse throughout.  Something else to remember for next time.

That said, it’s the most complicated thing I’ve carved and I’m pretty happy with it!  Just need to sand off the whole thing, glue the bottom in place and attach the lid and call ‘er done!

Oh, here’s the lid design, by the way…it’s a shoddy photograph but I only had my cell phone and the lighting wasn’t all that great.  I still need to clean out the little fuzzy stuff and tidy it up a bit but you get the idea…IMAG2875Wow, upon looking at it this close, you can totally tell that I started in the center and worked my way out.  The cuts were nice and crisp there and started to drop off in quality.  The outer ring is the worst and was the hardest to cut…well, I’ll know better for next time!

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [Dovetailed Tea Box] The lid.

  1. Paul says:

    Was that caused by tiring, or dulling of tool?

    • S. M. Vaught says:

      I think it was a combination of both, but mostly the tool. I feel when I sharpened and honed it before I cut the lid that I got it just barely where it needed to be. The result was it didn’t stay honed very long. I think. I seriously don’t have much of a clue what I’m doing 🙂

Leave a Reply

