[Castle Bookcase] Grand Finale.

Thus begins the home stretch.  Yesterday, I glued up the letters, decorated some little stars and fimished prep on the mirror and frame.

image

I also wrapped up touch paint and trimmed the excess paint off the base trim where it sat on a plastic tarp during painting.  In all, I spent about three hours doing fine detail work.

Today was he final day.

I started applying shellac at 9am and by 1 pm I had two solid coats on the entire bookcase (using a paint brush).  I have to say, after using the spray shellac on the medal chest, I much prefer that over brushing.  I feel I have better control over the application with the brush, but man are my arms tired.  I also had fun with runs and drips and had to sand, recoat and sponge up a few spots.

Anyway, I installed the drawbridge and hooked up the braided rope “chains” I made the other day:

image

And glued up the mirror and frame:

image

And after the final application of shellac I used the brown bag trick to buff it to a nice smooth finsih.   My daughter, and more importantly my bride, were very impresses, which means MISSION ACCOMPLISHED.

image

What about my 4 year old son?  What did he think?  And I quote:

“That’s awesome Daddy!  I want a rocket one I can climb in!”

Time to start designing….

I will get a picture of the bookcase in it’s new home tomorrow, after drying and airing out in the garage tonight.

But first, I have a new project I need to tackle:

image

Time today (and yesterday): 7 hours.

Total project time: 41 hours.

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

