[Leg Vice Chop] Shaping Complete

Got to spend some more time in the shop after I put the kids to bed.  I continued shaping the chop and here is the result….one nicely beveled chop, using chisels and the Nice Ash block plane.  A deadly combination—that poplar never stood a chance.

By the time I had all the bevels done (30minutes!) I realized I had time to go for flattening the sides, and I ended up with this:

I am very happy with the results.  Got a little workout in and finished the chop’s shaping.  So I started in on roughing out the handle on my new carving mallet.  30 minutes later, using a utility knife and a 1″ bench chisel I have something that resembles a handle, but is superbly fitted to my hand.  It feels so good in fact I’m kind of freaked out that I pulled this off.  And I still need to finish shaping it and sand it, etc…

Kind of crude looking, but hey, I don’t have a lathe and I just have to shake my head in wonder at how well I lucked out with fitting it.  Just weird.  I guess even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while, eh?  Boy that cherry is delicious to work with.  As much fun as I’ve ever had with sharp tools.

And just for giggles, you can see the cut off, drunkenly tilted over, from the shaft.  Hah!

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Projects, Workbench and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

