[Leg Vise Chop] Starting Carving

Got a little time in the shop left after repairing my jack plane iron—that’s another post—time to start carving!

First I transfered the design using tracing paper (rub a pencil to cover the back in graphite, then retrace the design on the wood).  Then I used a 1/2″ bench chisel to make stop cuts around the larger portions of the banner.  It will be draped over the bottom section of the dragons so it is the high ground, so to speak.

image

After the stop cuts were made, I went around all the curvy parts wih my carving chisels and made more stop cuts, then started to hollow out the background around the banner and undercut the main part to give it a 3D look.

Once I was satisfied it was deep enough, I started on the left side and knocked down the two layers of the curled banner.  When I had three distinct layers I called it quits for the day.  It was 100 degrees in the garage and I needed to change clothes!

image

Man, this poplar carves nice.  Silky, like basswood only denser.  I really like it!

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Woodworking Skills, Workbench and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

