[Lego Table]: Part 11

I had a simple goal today—get the drawer fronts all cut out and shaped.

Drawer Fronts

I started on the drawer fronts today. First I made a template of the shape I wanted to cut out for a finger pull. I used 1/4” plywood I had laying around.

image

Then I clamped the template to my 3 1/2” poplar planks and traced the same cutout pattern.

image

Using my drill press, I punched out the waste in the cutout.

image

image

Then it was off to the band saw and remove the rest of the waste.

image

Then I clamped the template again to the plank and hooked the whole thing to the bench where I used my trim router and a flush-trim bit to get everything nice looking.

image

image

Finally, I moved to my router table and smoothed over all the edges, rounding everything to make it nice and gentle on my kids’ hands.

image

Now I’ve got four drawer fronts, rounded and smooth.

image

I had just enough time left today to pack up my tools and move the router table, band saw, and shop vac back into their homes so my wife could pull her car in the garage.

Tomorrow, I can put the drawers together!

About Marcus Richardson

Marcus attended the University of Delaware and later graduated from law school at the age of 26. Since then, he has at times been employed (or not) as: a stock boy, a cashier, a department manager at a home furnishing store, an assistant manager at and arts and crafts store, an unemployed handyman, husband, cook, groundskeeper, spider killer extraordinaire, stay at home dad, and a writer.
This entry was posted in Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

